Review: ‘LIBERTY’ is a slick, genre-bending environmental thriller that burrows into your brain.

LIBERTY A young park ranger with a soulful connection to animals locks a group of eclectic strangers in a cage, forcing them to confront the realities that innocent creatures face daily. The clever dialogue juxtaposes the fragility of animals in captivity as Matt assigns an animal to each human prisoner. The underlying theme of Matt’s bullying slyly mirrors the psychological Read More →

Blood In The Snow (2021) compelling thriller, ‘PEPPERGRASS’ comes to digital tomorrow. (6/16/23)

PEPPERGRASS During a pandemic, a pregnant restaurateur tries to rob a priceless truffle from a reclusive veteran. Peppergrass is a slow-burn thriller that ultimately turns into a survival film. It builds a similar tension that Alone did. Not the horror I was expecting from the 2021 edition of Blood in The Snow, but it is, nonetheless, intriguing as hell. You must have Read More →

Review: ‘MAKE PEOPLE BETTER’ pits science against ethics in Cody Sheehy’s new docu-thriller. It’s one hell of a conversation starter.

MAKE PEOPLE BETTER A Film by Cody Sheehy Scientists, tech journalists, ethicists, and filmmaker Cody Sheehy navigate the genome technology space of genetic tailoring. In 2018, world-renowned Chinese geneticist He “JK” Jiankui ignited a controversial firestorm when his edited embryos produced twin girls without the public support of the scientific community. MAKE PEOPLE BETTER is the story of the martyr for Read More →

Review: Carlo Lavagna’s Post-Apocalyptic Thriller ‘SHADOWS’ Finds Mia Threapleton Living in Isolation

SHADOWS Anxiety and paranoia seep from every pore of Carlo Lavagna’s Shadows. We follow sisters Alma and Alexis as they attempt to carve out a life in the post-apocalyptic countryside. They live in an abandoned hotel under the strict eye of their Mother (Saskia Reeves). Every activity they must undertake to survive (hunting, fishing) must be done at night – Read More →

Review: Tyler Michael James’ taut thriller ‘LOW LIFE’ never lets you get comfortable. Not for one second.

LOW LIFE Written by Hunter Milano and Noah Rotter and directed by Tyler Michael James, Low Life finds YouTube personality Benny Jansen, who goes by the name “Creep Dunk,” in hot water when one of his subjects shows up at his house. Everyone is about to experience a nightmare. Lucas Neff, whom I loved in Fear, Inc, plays Jason, the Read More →

Review: Heart-stopping thriller ‘FALL’ opens in theaters this Friday. Hold on tight.

FALL What could possibly go wrong attempting to traverse a rusty 2000-foot tower in the middle of nowhere? Only everything. In Scott Mann‘s FALL, Becky is a year out from watching her husband plummet from a climbing mishap before her very eyes. Mired in grief, best friend and climbing partner Hunter convinces her to do the unthinkable to heal. The two plan Read More →

Review: Malin Akerman and Lorenza Izzo star in the taut thriller ‘THE AVIARY.’

THE AVIARY SYNOPSIS: Malin Akerman and Chris Messina star in the twisted journey of two women’s desperate flee to escape the clutches of Skylight, an insidious cult. Lured in by the promise of “freedom” in the isolated desert campus called “The Aviary”, Jillian (Akerman) and Blair (Lorenzo Izzo) join forces to escape in hopes of real freedom. Consumed by fear and Read More →

Fantaspoa 2022 review: ‘FOLLOW HER’ is a clever social media revenge thriller.

Director Sylvia Caminer brings her new film Follow Her to Fantaspoa 2022. It features Dani Barker as social media up-and-comer Jess as she grinds away, posting live videos about her various paid gigs. When a glitch in her facial blur app causes an online frenzy, Jess must navigate not only a barrage of new followers and mixed comments but a new job offer. A meta revenge thriller, Follow Read More →

Review: Chris Pine helmed action thriller ‘The Contractor’ has franchise potential.

THE CONTRACTOR SYNOPSIS: Chris Pine stars in the action-packed thriller as Special Forces Sergeant James Harper, who is involuntarily discharged from the Army and cut-off from his pension. In debt, out of options and desperate to provide for his family, Harper contracts with a private underground military force. When the very first assignment goes awry, the elite soldier finds himself Read More →

Review: ‘MEASURE OF REVENGE’ is a genre-bending thriller with theatrical roots.

MEASURE OF REVENGE “Measure of Revenge” is a taut throwback revenge thriller. This film is equal parts Shakespearian tragedy, family melodrama, and neo-noir mystery. Despite being set in modern-day New York, the themes of the film root it alongside the pulpy classics of the 70s. Through this lens, the city remains dark and dangerous even in the daylight. Melissa Leo stars Read More →

SXSW 2022 review: Winona Ryder stars in ‘THE COW,’ a twisted thriller you won’t see coming.

THE COW Upon arriving at a remote cabin in the redwoods, Kath and her boyfriend find a mysterious younger couple already there — the rental has apparently been double-booked. With nowhere else to go, they decide to share the cabin with these strangers until the next morning. When her boyfriend disappears with the young woman, Kath becomes obsessed with finding Read More →

Review: ‘SHATTERED’ mixes ‘Fatal Attraction’ and ‘Misery’ into a thriller for the tech era.

SHATTERED In the tradition of Fatal Attraction and Basic Instinct comes this dazzling action-thriller starring Academy Award® nominee John Malkovich (RED) and Frank Grillo (Avengers: Endgame). After lonely tech millionaire Chris (Cameron Monaghan, “Shameless”) encounters charming, sexy Sky (Lilly Krug), passion grows between them – and when he’s injured, she quickly steps in as his nurse. But Sky’s odd behavior Read More →

Blood In The Snow (2021) review: ‘PEPPERGRASS’ is a compelling thriller.

During a pandemic, a pregnant restaurateur tries to rob a priceless truffle from a reclusive veteran. Peppergrass is a slow-burn thriller that ultimately turns into a survival film. It builds a similar tension that Alone did. Not the horror I was expecting from Blood in The Snow, but it is, nonetheless, intriguing as hell. You must have patience during the first third is heavy Read More →

Review: Ethan Hawke stars in ‘Zeroes and Ones,’ a creatively shot political thriller.

presents ZEROES AND ONES Called to Rome to stop an imminent terrorist bombing, a soldier desperately seeks news of his imprisoned brother — a rebel with knowledge that could thwart the attack. Navigating the capital’s darkened streets, he races to a series of ominous encounters to keep the Vatican from being blown to bits. Zeros and Ones is a surrealistic Read More →

Review: ‘Eye Without A Face’ is a twisted psychological thriller.

Eye Without A Face Henry, an agoraphobic and anxious young man living in Los Angeles, hacks into the webcams of various selected young women who inhabit the city. He watches over them in their daily lives, seeing himself as their guardian angel. When his new charming roommate Eric, a Youtuber and struggling actor pushes him to get out into the Read More →

Review: ‘What Lies Below’ is a new breed of supernatural thriller.

In WHAT LIES BELOW, Liberty, a socially awkward 16-year-old, returns from two months at camp to a blindsided introduction of her Mother’s fiancé, John Smith, whose charm, intelligence, and beauty paint the picture of a man too perfect to be human. This script does an excellent job of presenting something that feels familiar but layering it with the lust of a teenage Read More →

Review: ‘Discreet’ is intense psycho-sexual thriller.

SYNOPSIS After years in hiding and struggling to control his demons, an eccentric drifter returns home and discovers that his childhood abuser, the center of his pain, is still alive.  Armed with this knowledge,  the drifter plots his revenge, all the while navigating the perilous land of masculine fragility in modern-day America. ​ There are so many disturbing elements in this narrative. From the real-life alt-right radio that quietly screams at you during pensive moments, to the cyclical Read More →

New to Watch: Thriller ‘Lavender’ starring Abbie Cornish, Justin Long & Dermot Mulroney

Lavender THEATRICAL, VOD AND DIGITAL HD RELEASE DATE: March 3, 2017 DIRECTOR: Ed Gass-Donnelly WRITER:  Colin Frizzell, Ed Gass-Donnelly CAST: Abbie Cornish, Diego Klattenhoff, Justin Long, Dermot Mulroney SYNOPSIS: When a photographer (Abbie Cornish) suffers severe memory loss after a traumatic accident, strange clues amongst her photos suggest she may be responsible for the deaths of family members she never knew she had. Justin Read More →

Review: ‘SUN CHOKE’, is a mind melding thriller. In Theaters and on VOD.

Nothing makes me happier while watching a film than thinking I’m watching one story and then getting hit with a proverbial 2×4 in plot. It’s a ballsy move that either pays off or loses the audience. In Ben Cresciman‘s sophomore feature as both writer and director, a young woman’s health and sanity are in serious question. With the watchful eye from Read More →

Review: Wechsler’s Mind-Boggling Thriller ‘Altered Minds’

Imagine a loving guardian; someone who cares for you as your soul protector. This person has supported you and your dreams for as long as you can remember. Then one day a memory surfaces into an eye-opening nightmare. A memory of a time when you were no longer protected. A time when you became altered. Michael Wechsler’s film Altered Minds shows how Read More →